Ivy

January 2022

In December I made some lovely dogwood wreaths with the children at school. Before the session I researched materials traditionally used for this, especially ones that I could forage locally. I have an abundance of ivy in my garden and back lane growing over the walls. This was ideal to use as it comes off in long tendrils that you can weave into the wreath.

Ivy gets a bad press as it spreads over trees and buildings causing a lot of damage. However, English Ivy (Hedera Helix) is evergreen, especially hardy and essential for feeding our insects, moths, and birds. The flowers produced in late Autumn are a food supply for many species of bee, hoverflies, and other insects. The small black berries(fruit) developed in winter are important food for birds who then disperse the seeds. The leaves are eaten by several larvae of moths and butterflies.

In Old Lore, ivy was used as a protector against bad luck and, as it is evergreen, it signified ongoing health and vitality, as well as fidelity. It was considered a feminine symbol so when put together with holly (male) it was thought to bring peace to a family at Christmas and into the following year. It was used as an anti-inflammatory, an antiseptic, and a cough syrup. Decoctions were made for skin poultices for sores and stretch marks, and could be used to wash hair. In myths the plant was dedicated to Bacchus who wore an ivy crown preventing intoxication!

While researching ivy I came across some recipes for ivy detergent. Ivy has very high levels of saponin. This is a natural detergent which foams on contact with water, and a surfactant which removes grease and dirt from clothing. You can make a decoction by collecting English ivy leaves and rinsing them. After scrunching them up a little you place in a pan and add about a litre and a half of water. Bring to the boil for 15 mins and then leave overnight (or several hours). Strain the liquid and bottle up. The leaves can go back on the compost or be used as mulch. This amount should be enough for 3-6 loads of laundry.  The link to the recipe I here, although there are quite a few more online. If you are trying this out it would be a good idea to use gloves and use on tea towels etc first in case it irritates your skin. If anyone regularly uses this as a detergent it would be great to hear from you in the comments below.

January Jobs for the garden/allotment

Most gardening books advise you to cut everything back in late Autumn to ‘tidy’ up ready for the new growing season. I have left most of my shrubs and flowers with seed heads so that there is enough food and shelter for wildlife over winter. I’ve found quite a few frogs sheltering in long grass and slow worms snuggled in the warmth of a covered compost heap. I’ll be able to cut back in the Spring when new growth is emerging. I have pruned my fruit bushes though as I really look forward to a good crop of blackcurrants and redcurrants.   I left the beds for quite a while too as my marigolds continued to flower.  Now they have died back I have cleared the beds and layered with cardboard and homemade compost to feed and protect the soil from any harsh conditions. 

The weather has been particularly wet and I haven’t really felt like gardening but the new year always has a new promise to it so my thoughts will go to what flowers and veg to grow in the spring. Last year I started some seeds off in January but even though it was all covered in the polytunnel, the hard frost in April killed most of them off. I started again and got a good crop so I’m not sure how valuable starting early is. I think I’ll spend my time tidying and cleaning pots and planning! How about you? Do you sow early seeds and if so, which ones work the best? 

Signing off for now but remember, soil is an anti-depressant. The smell of the micro-organisms found in soil, compost or leaf mould releases serotonin, the mood enhancer. Messing about in the garden might just get you through these dark, cold days.

My allotment in summer

3 comments

    • So enjoyed reading your blog and the allotment looks fab and inspiring I made a flower boarder in my lawn last year which my 11 year old granddaughter planted with me so has now claims as her garden and we aim to make it larger this year for her to use keep them coming please

      Like

Leave a comment